Restaurant Review: Chaophraya’s New Menu

If you read my review of Chaophraya’s Father’s Day Menu, you’ll know I thoroughly enjoyed my meal in the most beautiful surroundings. When I was given the chance to review their new menu, I was really excited to return to the restaurant but I did wonder….could they really improve on what I thought was perfection?

The Food

As a return visitor, I knew dinner was going to be good and I wasn’t disappointed.  I started with the Chicken Satay which looked far too good to eat, but smelled too amazing to resist. The chicken was grilled over charcoal which really enhanced the flavour, yet kept the chicken nice and tender. It was served with homemade peanut sauce and vegetable relish, both of which were perfect accompaniments.

My main course was Massaman Lamb Curry served with a side portion of sticky rice. On my last visit, I got the chance t make my own Massaman chicken curry which was nice, but a far cry from what these chefs can conjure up. This has now become one of my favourite curry dishes. Unlike other curries, it is filling but not at all heavy so you’re left feeling ready for dessert.

And at Chaophraya, you need to leave room for dessert.. The hardest part is deciding what to order! I swayed back and forth from the Chocolate Bombe to the Mango Meringue Roll before finally settling on the White Chocolate Box. The ‘box’ is actually a white chocolate mousse filled with a raspberry coulis centre. White chocolate can be extremely sweet, but the balance between sweetness from the chocolate and sharpness from the raspberries was perfectly. The macaroon served alongside the box was really yummy too.  As keen as I am to try the other desserts, I definitely made the right choice.

img_20160917_162048

psx_20161020_155217

img_20160915_222949

The Cocktails

Ah the cocktails! I’m never disappointed with the cocktail selection on offer at Chaophraya. Although I have my ‘firm favourites’ (make me a good French Martini and I’ll be your friend for life) I’m as adventurous with my cocktails as I am with my food. Chaophraya is definitely the place to go if you’re stuck in a cocktail rut.

I ordered a Guyana Grape which is a rum based cocktail finished with basil, lemon and grape. It was so refreshing and went down a treat – one of my new favourite drinks. Although I was tempted to order another (and another, and another) I went for a Short Rum Punch which was equally as good. All of their cocktails are beautifully presented too, which make them more than Instagram worthy.

img_20160915_210635

psx_20161020_155145

My friends and I go out for dinner quite a bit because there’s nothing like catching up over good food and cocktails. Every now and again, I have a meal I know I’m going to remember for quite some time and this was certainly one of them. My friend and I had such a wonderful evening, tucking into each course in the most beautiful surroundings. I really need to take Mr Blues here for dinner – he would love it.The new menu is exciting, vibrant and there is something to make even the fussiest eater’s mouth water (exactly why I can take Mr Blues with ease).

To find out more, be sure to have a look at their menu and if you’re anything like me, you’ll be picking out the dishes you’re going to try on your next visit.

Thank you so much Chaophraya, for a wonderful evening. Service was exceptional and I’ll be popping in for another Guyana Grape once I’ve recovered from my surgery – it’ll be a well deserved treat!


I was invited by the restaurant in exchange for a review. Nevertheless, all thoughts are my own.

Follow:

41 Comments

  1. October 20th, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    Hope your surgery goes well hunny and make sure you treat yourself to a cheeky cocktail or two from Chaopharayas when you are feeling better xx

  2. October 20th, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    Looks delicious here and I’m glad they didn’t disappoint 🙂 good luck with your surgery xo

  3. October 20th, 2016 / 9:13 pm

    Those cocktails look incredible! Which one is the one with the purple flower? Guava?

  4. October 20th, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    Good luck with your surgery I really hope it goes well for you. What a delicious looking place to head and eat at! The food looks mouthwatering.

  5. October 20th, 2016 / 9:39 pm

    This place looks fantastic! Good luck woth your surgery! X

  6. October 20th, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    Wish I didn’t read this minutes before eating a boring old hamburger I’m grilling outside! This place sounds amazing and I would love that chocolate dessert!

  7. October 20th, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    This restaurant sounds amazing, the chicken satay looks and sounds amazing and the white chocolate box looks so clever x

  8. October 20th, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    I feel like if I went to Chaophrayas I would drink too many cocktails and would choose Mango Meringue Roll for dessert as I love my desserts. The food looks delicious.

  9. October 21st, 2016 / 3:14 am

    Now this sounds like a fun place to go for a good meal and some drinks. Your curry sounded great!

  10. October 21st, 2016 / 9:41 am

    Such a gorgeous looking meal. I bet it all tasted great!

  11. Hannah
    October 21st, 2016 / 11:24 am

    The food looks amazing, I am seriously hungry now!

  12. Shane
    October 21st, 2016 / 12:28 pm

    The lamb curry looks and sounds simply delectable! Wish I could taste through the screen!

  13. October 21st, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    Oh wow this looks delicious and the cocktails sound amazing! x

  14. October 21st, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    Your whole post made me hungry! These dishes look great, If only I were closer to this place!

  15. October 21st, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Looks wonderful – I bet the food is really aromatic.

  16. October 21st, 2016 / 6:34 pm

    We love Chicken Satay sticks! Those cocktails look too pretty to drink!! 😉

  17. October 21st, 2016 / 9:27 pm

    These meals look delicious and I love the detail they put into everything xx

  18. October 22nd, 2016 / 7:53 am

    Oooooo those cocktails look very tempting

  19. October 22nd, 2016 / 8:17 am

    This entire post has my mouth watering! Curry for breakfast, methinks.

  20. October 22nd, 2016 / 8:53 am

    Hope the surgery goes well!
    This is one of my favourite restaurants and we always go here for celebrations.

  21. October 22nd, 2016 / 9:22 am

    This looks like such a lovely place to eat out. Nothing like a catch up with friends over good food and cocktails.

  22. October 22nd, 2016 / 10:10 am

    The food looks and sounds amazing and if there is cocktails I will be there :). Good luck with your surgery x

  23. francesca
    October 22nd, 2016 / 10:48 am

    Omg the food sounds and looks phenomenal!!! This is my kinda place to eat!!

  24. October 22nd, 2016 / 10:50 am

    Yumm.. That food looks so delicious! Especially those cocktails look incredible!

  25. October 22nd, 2016 / 12:47 pm

    Oh wow! The food looks amazing, I could eat that dessert right now 🙂

  26. Helen
    October 22nd, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    Good luck with your surgery!
    Chaophraya is my favourite place to eat out, the food and cocktails are divine! I love the look of all your choices, I’ll have to try them next time I’m there.

  27. October 22nd, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    Oh yum the food looks delicious!

  28. October 22nd, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    Oh my, the presentation of every dish is amazing. The dessert looks absolutely beautiful! I so wish I lived closer as I’d definitely be making a visit 🙂 x

  29. Daniel
    October 23rd, 2016 / 12:32 am

    The food looking amazing. And here I am at home with my simple meal

  30. October 23rd, 2016 / 3:11 am

    I’ll take about 10 of those cocktails, especially if they’ll package and deliver them! I’m excited that you had a great time- it’s lovely when an establishment doesn’t wow you once, but twice!

  31. October 23rd, 2016 / 5:10 am

    This food all looks fantastic – I really must try Chaophraya some time soon!

  32. October 23rd, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    Oh wow they really do a great job with the presentation don’t they it looks great.

  33. October 23rd, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    Oh wow, the food really looks amazing. Glad you enjoyed it

  34. October 23rd, 2016 / 10:18 pm

    I really love Chaothraya, the dishes are always delightful and the cocktails are something else.

  35. October 23rd, 2016 / 10:21 pm

    That Guyana Grape cocktail sound just up my street! I love rum based cocktails, they are always my favourite!

  36. October 24th, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    This looks super tasty! The presentation of those cocktails are wonderful – I would totally pick the same!

  37. October 25th, 2016 / 7:51 am

    This is the sort of restaurant we’d love. The food and cocktails look amazing x

  38. October 25th, 2016 / 9:08 am

    This all looks delicious – making me hungry! And the cocktails look really well presented too!

  39. October 25th, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    Lamb curry is like one of my favorite dishes of all time.The spices are always on point.

  40. October 27th, 2016 / 4:16 pm

    that looks like my kind of place! Delicious. The satay looks incredible!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *